littlegirlhorseI’ve been reminded recently of this very profound concept.  I’ve spoken of the soul connection that I had with my horse Buck when I was a young girl, and about the animal communicator that came and talked with us and our horses…

2014 is being called the year of Spiritual Growth and new websites are popping up all over with buzz words about the magical, mystical, miraculous ability that horses have to ‘mirror’ us and help us find our ‘authentic selves’, ‘inner child’, ‘woman of wisdom’ etc. etc. etc.  We use some of these same terms and words on our website, but I believe what horses have to offer us goes much deeper and can’t be described with words.  How do you describe something that is meant to be felt?

Have you ever had the experience of meeting someone and when they looked you in the eye you felt they could see right inside of you?  I have, and it made me very nervous.  What if they really could see inside… that I’m not who I pretend to be… my weaknesses…my shame…my guilt…my secrets.  What would they think of me then?  What if they couldn’t be fooled with fake smiles, a confident manner or crocodile tears?  What would that feel like?   maskimages

I’ve been told I’m just like a cactus…all prickly on the outside to keep people away, and all mush on the inside.  I think many of us are like that.  But unfortunately, in order to keep others from seeing the not so pleasant side of our humanness, we also end up covering up the good.

I have noticed horses seeming a bit ‘off’ and then find their owners were entertaining thoughts of selling them.  I have seen horses communicate to others who are more open to receiving their thoughts that they want lights off, doors closed, their teeth checked, hate their jobs, love their jobs… and mostly… I think they want what we do… to be truly known and accepted… without judgment or agenda…

The other day we did an experiment in the arena.  We all just pictured Faith taking a step up on the mounting block.  Within seconds she made an attempt – no prompting, no physical pressure, just thought…

So for me, the amazing thing about horses is that we can’t keep things hidden… all we have to do is think it or feel it and they just know…