Jennifer

Jennifer

There are many answers to the question: “Why did we start The Urban Herd?” Some are pretty obvious, I’m sure you could come up with them yourselves. And some are a little more obscure. Some probably make sense to most people and some would probably make a few of you scratch your heads and go “Huh?”. I know most of the reasons we started this big adventure because I was there for all the conversations between myself, Alison, Donnell and Nate. But I’m sure there are things in their minds and hearts that they didn’t choose to share but that were a part of their motivation. I just mean that we don’t know for sure every single answer to “Why?” But I’m sure we don’t need to.

The reason I bring it up is because today I discovered a new one to add to the list – if anybody is keeping a list. Today I showed up at the barn ready to face a day of horses and horse people. I stayed home Friday because I wasn’t feeling well, but this was Saturday, a new day, and in my mind I was ready for anything! As it turns out, that was simply not the case. Oh believe me, my intentions were correct. But when it came down to the implementation part, let’s just say I fell a little short. Much to my embarrassment, I was actually pretty ill. In fact, so much so that I simply could not do my job. I tried to help with barn chores, but I had to sit down part way through cleaning my second stall. And there are 12 stalls to clean! If you can’t clean 1.5 stalls, you can’t clean 12. Simple physics :-). I had to face the fact that I was not going to be able to do my part.

Here’s what happened: Donnell, of course, was right there, working her magic. She got the outside chores done with her usual efficiency. Marissa and I turned the horses out and started on the inside chores. You know how that worked out for me. But Marissa kept working, cleaning and filling water buckets. David came down and he and Donnell finished the stalls. I did what I could with shavings, but David ended up finishing those off. Teri pitched in over in the south aisle, Camden did a ton of sweeping, and Kim wrapped up the rest of the sweeping at the end of the day. Alison, Denise and Ashley made sure that at least a few horses got worked, and Marissa did some grooming. At 4pm as I was getting ready to bring the horses in for dinner, Jill showed up, saw me bringing Wyatt in, hopped out of her truck and promptly fetched in Shazam, BNT and Spartacus. And voila! Horses all fed and safely tucked in for the evening, right on time.

And that, my friends, is one of the very best things about The Urban Herd. Somebody’s always got your back. In fact, a bunch of somebodies…

 
Jennifer