Donnell

With Jennifer and Alison off on world jaunts, I am left to my own devices and musings.  Not always a good idea…

I have been sitting on a cactus off and on for the last few weeks.  Every time I try to adjust my weight I get poked.  Of course it’s my choice to be sitting on the cactus… I have climbed down a few times vowing not to climb back up – but without even knowing it, I find myself sitting up there again, and getting poked over and over…  Ever do that?  Choose to be in an uncomfortable situation when all you have to do is adjust your thinking, attitude, expectations or position and the discomfort would go away?

With me it usually has something to do with ‘the need to be right’ or feeling like someone is being ‘unreasonable or unfair’.  I have the joy of both counts right now, and neither Jennifer or Alison to offer different perspectives (sometimes it takes a Herd to reason things out).

I recently read an article in Cowboy Campfire Ministries about the Pastor taking his step-daughter in to get her license.  The ‘holier than thou’ guy behind the counter was quite rude and condescending and as they left – the Pastor had a moment of choice – to knock the corn-feeder numbering machine off the counter onto the floor – or not.

When I read that, I thought – ‘Well, he would certainly be justified’, and envisioned him knocking the corn-feeder numbering machine onto the floor and having the rude, condescending guy behind the counter getting all red in the face and screaming at him to “come back and pick that up” as they smiled and walked casually out the door…  (I have a vivid imagination!)  Then I suddenly realized – I’m the rude, condescending, behind the counter guy screaming “that’s not right, that’s not fair”!  When people don’t do things the way I think they should, I practically vault onto my cactus, which I guess kinda accounts for the red face and screaming thing…

So right now I am stuck repeating ‘crap… there goes my corn feeder again’ and avoiding my cactus the best I can, and you are stuck with my meanderings… until Jennifer and Alison return that is, and we can get back to our regularly scheduled programming…

Oh yeah – only 12 days, 14 hours and 41 minutes to go…