Donnell

I have been feeling a little scattered lately…

My husband and I have suffered three losses in our family of friends in as many weeks.  My husband’s ex-business partner of 10 years took a joy ride in a fighter jet in Nevada that barely cleared the runway before dropping into the desert.  He wasn’t supposed to even be on that run…

While my husband was attending his friends memorial in Palm Desert, I got news that another close friend of ours had passed.  That was the really tough one for me…  This gentleman was the definition of kindness and love, gave you his undivided attention if you were talking to him, and gave the best hugs you would ever want to get.  We were supposed to be together with he and his wife the following Monday night…

While we were attending his Life Celebration, we got news that another friend had passed.  He was another one of the good ones – always showing up and being of service to others…

These have given me pause to think of my life and want to do better.  If I were to pass suddenly, what would my legacy be?  Am I as kind as I could be to those around me?  Do I give them my undivided attention so that they know they are important to me?  Do I show up and serve others in the ways that I can?  Am I grateful for the blessings in my life even when I’m not getting what I want?  Do I give great hugs?

I would like to think the answer to those questions would be yes, but usually our perceptions of ourselves can be a little skewed.  So in the end, it would be up to the people I interacted with to judge my character.

I am a firm believer that things happen as they are supposed to.  That we are all exactly where we are supposed to be at any given moment.  At times like these… that belief is put to the test.

So in honor of Rick, George and Jonathan… have fun and live each day fully, be as kind as possible to others, show up and be of service when you can, and when possible, give great hugs…

Here’s a great big <<HUG>> to all of you!  I am grateful…